Reflections on Achieving Goals

These days I am constantly reflecting on the time in my life about three years ago when I began to lose 30 pounds, which put me in the best shape of my life. Not only did I look great, but I felt fabulous and it showed in all areas of my life: personal, professional and spiritual.

I was able to maintain my weight (and the resulting “glow”) for at least 2 years, so no one can blame it on stress, life changes, a fad diet, etc. In fact, I like to think that I returned to a state of equilibrium because of the things I was doing and I can’t think of a healthier time in my life.

But somewhere along the road in the last year or so, I stopped doing some of the things that got me so healthy and I find myself digging out my “fat clothes” to get through it. This reminds me of one of the best lessons I took away from my weekend at Life Success Seminars two years ago.

That lesson had to do with achieving goals in life and sustaining the results. There are specific things we do that get us to our goals; they might include journaling to get through a tough time, exercising to achieve a body-image goal or counting pennies to pay down debt.

Whatever it is that we do, we often stop doing those things once our goal is achieved. But what I learned at Life Success is that we need to keep doing the things that got us there in order to sustain the desirable result. So I am asking myself, what did I STOP doing that derailed my healthy look, outlook and lifestyle?

Too often when we find ourselves in a place we’d rather not be, we think of restrictions to get us back on track. Cutting out cookies to lose weight, trimming back on shoe-shopping to get out of debt, avoiding painful subjects that have us feeling low.

I’d like to propose the opposite: instead of thinking of what you can stop doing to get yourself back on track, think of what you can start. For me and getting back into my skinny jeans, I will start taking long walks and practicing yoga again. Journaling about whatever is floating around in my head. Taking time to check out and “just be” every once in awhile. These are all things that I was doing when I lost all that weight that have been crowded out lately by other activities.

How about you? What is it that you may have stopped doing that you could start again that would get you back to where you want to be?

Are you signed up for my monthly newsletter? No spam, and I try really hard not to be self-promotional — I just like to share thoughts with my friends and clients! Sign up through my website at http://www.kelleyclong.com

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

